Getting to know the 2015 Waukee Warriors

Waukee QB Ben Ferkin enters his third year at the head of the Warrior offense. Picture from @WaukeeFB.

After losing a senior class with multiple D-I recruits, including running back Trevor Allen (UNI) and defensive end Anthony Nelson (Iowa), coach Scott Carlson must replace a deep and talented class that won a Class 4A, District 4 title a year ago.

Leading the charge on offense will be senior quarterback Ben Ferkin, who threw for 1,809 yards and 27 TD’s while leading the district in pass completions (138), completion percentage (57.5) and quarterback rating (151.3) among quarterbacks with a minimum of 80 attempts.

After a strong junior campaign, including 25 receptions for 475 yards and a team-leading nine touchdown catches, Adam Rose will be the Warriors go-to receiver after losing Koy Schneiter, the team’s leading receiver last season.

The offensive line will be anchored by senior duo Brandon Krantz and Jarrod Martin but questions emerge after the star tandem. Both the offensive and defensive fronts are areas of concern as the team looks to rebuild.

On defense, the Warriors must replace the teams’ top four tacklers from 2014: including Kyle Boulanger (74.5), Nick Tweeten (44.5), Jacob Fay (43.5) and Anthony Nelson (42). The secondary will anchor this year’s unit, led by Cedric Dobbins and Brett Hauck, who combined for 81.5 total tackles, three interceptions and two fumble recoveries as juniors. Drew Lienemann will anchor the defensive front, finishing last year with 20.5 tackles and three sacks.

Last year, the Warriors outscored their District 4 opponents a combined 241-29 in the regular season and look to be the early favorites again this year despite losing a talented 2014 class. Finding depth and quickly grooming underclassmen may decide if the Warriors can make another deep playoff run in 2015.

The Central Iowa Sports Network will live stream the Warriors opener at Valley.

Waukee Stats

2014 record: 11-2 overall, 5-0 conference

Head Coach: Scott Carlson, 20th season, 118-74 record

Returning offensive starters

OL Jarrod Martin, SR

OL Brandon Krantz, SR

QB Ben Ferkin, SR

WR Adam Rose, SR

Returning defensive starters

DE Drew Lienemann, SR

DB Brett Hauck, SR

DB Cedric Dobbins, SR

Total returning letterwinners: 19

Offensive Scheme: Spread

Defensive Scheme: 4-3

Team Goals: District Championship, another deep run into the playoffs.

2015 Schedule (district games in bold)

Aug. 28 @ WDM Valley

Sept. 4 vs. Southeast Polk

Sept. 11 vs. Dowling Catholic

Sept. 18 @ Johnston

Sept. 25 vs. Marshalltown

Oct. 2 @ Urbandale

Oct. 9 vs. Indianola

Oct. 16 vs. Fort Dodge

Oct. 23 @ Mason City